Sergio Perez And Logan Sargeant Top Unwanted Standings After Chinese GP

The recent Chinese Grand Prix has significantly changed the Formula 1 penalty points standings, with several drivers edging closer to the suspension threshold which is 12 points during a 12 month period. The weekend’s Sprint Race and Grand Prix resulted in a total of 11 new penalty points distributed among the 20 drivers.

Aston Martin driver Fernando Alonso found himself in the thick of controversy after a sprint race collision with Ferrari’s Carlos Sainz, which resulted in a dual punishment of a 10-second time penalty and three additional penalty points to his license. This recent addition brings Alonso’s tally to a concerning six points accumulated within just a month.

Meanwhile, Daniel Ricciardo, who ultimately retired from the Grand Prix due to damage from a collision Lance Stroll, and Logan Sargeant received two penalty points each for overtaking Nico Hulkenberg under safety car conditions. Lance Stroll also garnered two penalty points for rear-ending Daniel Ricciardo. Kevin Magnussen and Yuki Tsunoda’s clash was another highlight, leading to the former receiving two penalty points for the incident.

As it stands, Sergio Perez and Logan Sargeant lead the standings with eight penalty points each, a situation that brings them dangerously close to the twelve-point threshold which triggers an automatic race ban. Both drivers will be under intense scrutiny in the upcoming races as any misstep could lead to significant consequences, affecting not only their standings but their teams’ strategies and season outlooks.

Sergio Perez
Sergio Perez, Red Bull Racing RB19 during the F1 Grand Prix of China at Shanghai International Circuit on April 21, 2024 in Shanghai, China. Sergio Perez has the most penalty points as well as Logan…

Michael Potts/BSR Agency/Getty Images

The penalty point system, established a decade ago, is designed to improve driver conduct and enhance safety by holding drivers accountable with the threat of race bans should they accumulate 12 points within a 12-month period. Despite its longevity and the threat it poses, no driver has ever crossed this critical threshold, but current standings suggest that record could be tested this season.

How many penalty points does each driver have?

Sergio Perez – Red Bull:

8 points with 1 expiring on September 17, 2024.

Logan Sargeant – Williams:

8 points with 2 expiring on September 3, 2024

Lance Stroll – Aston Martin:

7 points with 2 expiring on July 9, 2024

Fernando Alonso – Aston Martin:

6 points with 3 expiring on March 24, 2025

Kevin Magnussen – Haas:

5 points with 3 expiring on March 9, 2025

Lewis Hamilton – Mercedes:

4 points with 2 expiring on July 29, 2024

George Russell – Mercedes:

4 points with 2 expiring on May 29, 2024

Yuki Tsunoda – VCARB:

3 points with 1 expiring on June 4, 2024

Nico Hulkenberg – Haas:

2 points with both expiring on May 29, 2024

Zhou Guanyu – Sauber:

2 points with both expiring on July 23, 2024

Max Verstappen – Red Bull:

2 points with both expiring on November 19, 2024

Valtteri Bottas – Sauber:

2 points with both expiring on October 29, 2024

Daniel Ricciardo – VCARB:

2 points with both expiring on April 21, 2025

Which drivers don’t have any penalty points?

Seven drivers currently have no penalty points including Carlos Sainz, Lando Norris, Pierre Gasly, Alex Albon, Charles Leclerc, Esteban Ocon, and Oscar Piastri.