CSK skipper Ruturaj Gaikwad achieves a record MS Dhoni & Rohit Sharma haven’t

Gaikwad has achieved a record in just 8 matches that Rohit and Dhoni couldn’t in 163 and 235 matches as captains.

Ruturaj Gaikwad played a captain’s knock against the Lucknow Super Giants. The Chennai Super Kings skipper carried his bat, scoring 108 runs of his team’s total of 210. The opener scored the eighth century of the IPL 2024 season and took his team to a match-winning total.

But what many won’t know is that Ruturaj Gaikwad is the 8th IPL captain to score a century. He now holds a record that MS Dhoni and Rohit Sharma failed to grasp their hands on despite leading their sides for 16 and 10 years, respectively.

IPL captains to score a century

Virat Kohli has the most centuries (5) as an IPL captain, all of which have come for the Royal Challengers Bengaluru. KL Rahul is second on the list, scoring three hundreds. Rahul has scored one ton for the Punjab Kings and two for the Lucknow Super Giants. There are six other skippers who have one century each, and Ruturaj Gaikwad is the 8th and latest entrant on the list. 

Captain Centuries Team
Virat Kohli 5 Royal Challengers Bengaluru
KL Rahul 3 Punjab Kings (1)
& Lucknow Super Giants (2)
Sachin Tendulkar 1 Mumbai Indians
Sanju Samson 1 Rajasthan Royals
Virender Sehwag 1 Delhi Capitals
Ruturaj Gaikwad 1 Chennai Super Kings
David Warner 1 Sunrisers Hyderabad
Adam Gilchrist 1 Punjab Kings

Editors pick

MS Dhoni effect! PBKS vs CSK match cheapest ticket priced at Rs 7500

Follow us on social media

Google News
Whatsapp channel

Tell us why didn’t you like our article so that we can improve on?

Source link